Maker Pro
Maker Pro

A true novice needs help, electronic game trail alert

jab

Nov 16, 2015
Hi,

I need electronic help!!! I am a retired Industrial Arts teacher so I know about soldering, basic electric wiring, and mechanical stuff but my formal education came too late to learn any electronics. Electronics and gadgets fascinate me and I am eager to learn. A friend of mine keeps showing me how cheap components are, he has a computer background but nothing in electrons so I decided to see if I can get help and get started. This maybe the wrong place and if so please guide me to a site that might be willing to help.

The project I would like to build is a portable game trail alert system. I am hunter but even more I love to photograph wildlife. The problem is they usually come up on me before I can get my video camcorder ready so I have resorted to using driveway alert systems from Harbor Freight. I put the sensor out some distance on the trail and then use the receiver to tell me when something breaks the beam. I took apart the receiver and in place of the beeper I soldered one of their cheap led flashlight heads in its place. Instead of getting the beep I get a flashing light. The units are different channels which works good so I know what direction to watch. Unfortunately that means I have to have a completely different receiver for each of the four directions. The transmitters are not really small, about 2”x3”x4” and uses a 9v battery. The receiver is the really big and heavy one about, 1.5”x4”x5” and uses 3 batteries c size! I would have to use four of these, which translates to big and heavy.

What I would like to build is four separate transmitters as small as possible with decent range, about 100’-150’ or more, on different channels and one receiver with four different lights, one for each channel.

I don’t have enough knowledge to know if this is possible. I think this would be a great project and I am willing to learn!

Thanks ahead of time, jab.