Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Adding an LED display to an FM radio kit?

Tim01

Dec 11, 2017
Hi folks, I'm very new to DIY electronics and just learning, but enjoying myself so far! I have successfully assembled a few beginner kits, including an Elenco FM radio kit. It works great, but I thought as a next step to make it even more useful, I might add a very simple LED or LCD screen to display the current station.

I'm honestly not sure where to start, though. The thing about these kits is that they are very "paint by numbers," so I have something that works, but I'm not really sure how or why it works!

Things I'm wondering:

Is this even possible with this kit?
What kind of screen is appropriate for this kit?
Where do I pull a value to display on the screen? I have a sneaking suspicion it will come from the IC somehow, but I honestly don't know.

Here's a picture of the schematic:
File Dec 10, 7 12 21 PM.jpeg

There's a picture of the board itself on Amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/Elenco-FM-88K-FM-Radio-Kit/dp/B004YHZE0G/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

Any other general tips on working with displays are appreciated, too - I'm a complete beginner!

Last edited:

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
I can buy a finished radio with that TDA7088 circuit at The Dollar Store for $1.00 and it comes with earphones and a battery so the radio is free. It works poorly. It is overloaded by strong local stations and cannot pickup weak distant stations that better radios receive perfectly. Its scanning misses many stations but scanning is a nuisance anyway.

If you connect a complicated counter circuit to the radio then the added capacitance and inductance will stop the radio from working.

Tim01

Dec 11, 2017
The kit works well enough for what it is - a beginner learning project. I get lots of local stations with a strong signal, so it's not awful.