Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Analog input to USB output for LabView use (medical)

hineybush

May 5, 2014
Hi all, first post here so I'm sorry if I'm doing something wrong- I just got involved with a medical research project at my university where I'm studying electrical engineering and I'm pretty much in charge of it. My only issue is that I've only completed the first-semester courses of basic circuit analysis and digital logic. I'm taking a lab course this summer and I've done a bit with hardware on my own, but I'm not sure where to start with this project.

Project details: A small (handheld hopefully) handheld device that has an analog input, the data will be read in LabView and graphed. I'm not worried about the LabView portion, but I'm at a loss of which ADC's and serial>USB converters to look at. I've read that SAR ADC's are best for medical applications, is this true? As far as channels go I would only need one, correct?

Thanks!

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Essentially you're after some sort of data logger that can interface to labview, possibly in real time (I don't know).

To decide what you want, you need to know something about the signals you want to capture.

hineybush

May 5, 2014
Yep, I'm looking to be able to view the data in real-time. The input I'm monitoring will be from a airflow meter (nebulizer-type device) and I assume the device has some sort of generator/motor (I haven't seen this device yet, but I'll have a better idea of it by the end of the week) which will output a current, I'll run the current across a resistor and measure that voltage with the converter.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Questions you'll need to think about are:

• How often do you need to take measurements (once per minute, once per second, ten times per second, 1000 times per second, 1,000,000 times per second)?
  • What is the voltage range? (0 to 1V, -100mV to 100mV, etc.)?