Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Anyone familiar with this USB charging cable?

juntjoo

Jun 8, 2015
94
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
94
GZ506gG


I thought it would just be another male USB plug so in order a male to male but they're all data transfer only. Might this type of charging cable go to a micro USB male plug that goes into like a power bank or would this just be a proprietary plug I'll only find the original to work?
 

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
4,956
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
4,956
Your picture is not a available.
Try copy and paste into the text window or resize it.

USB come in many shapes and sizes.



Martin
 
Last edited:

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
4,956
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
4,956
That’s a standard type A.
Saying “charging only” means it just uses the power lines in the USB cable. You can use any USB A cable.

Martin
 

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
4,956
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
4,956
I don’t know what your unit is.
Does it have an internal battery?.

Either way. It is a 5V power source. To power and/or charge your device or any other 5V USB device.
The device is standard type A, you can use USB A to any other type of connector. Nokia, iphone, samsung, torch, whatever requires 5V upto the max current. Older USB A were between 500mA and 1000mA. Some now are between 1A and 3A.

Martin
 

juntjoo

Jun 8, 2015
94
Joined
Jun 8, 2015
Messages
94
XihBtus
so yeah, that port is for charging out to other devices, and while I'm here, it's got a standard power port for a standard circular plug specifying 12v/1.5a. Am I right to assume neither of those numbers should be exceeded by any cable I put in there? If I can exceed, by how much. And is there any danger in using a plug of specs TOO low I should know about? Thanks!

https://imgur.com/a/XihBtus
 

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
4,956
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
4,956
That DC 12V/1.5A jack will/might be the units power supply input.
Actually, you still have not said what the unit is. We don't know if it's an input or output.
A walwart/wall adapter with those specs is what's required to power the unit. It requires 12V with a minimum of 1.5Amps.
Or it's a 12V output with a maximum of 1.5A.
Show us a picture of the front, sides and back of the unit or a link to the unit.

Martin
 
Top