Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Arcam Solo Mini - dead CD player

Dogbertd

Oct 17, 2022
Hi!

Electronics newbie here.

I bought an Arcam Solo Mini on ebay, and I'm very happy with it. It's a fine amp, and everything works except the CD player, which apparently goes through the initialisation procedure on the display screen, but the player itself makes no response, the platter doesn't spin, and eventually I get a "bad disc" error. I removed the player and can see no obvious fault. I can't tell if it's getting no power or no signal to initialise, but the motors never stir, even when a disc is inserted.

The model seems to be a "Komec" and has a serial number "c108*122130053".

The player seems connected to the main PCB by a ribbon cable and what's confusing me is that I see no other connection to provide power to the CD motors. Can a ribbon cable provide power to the player, or is there some other connector that is missing? I just took it that the ribbon cable was for control of the player, not for its power, but I'd be grateful if someone could let me know.

Thanks!

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
The ribbon cable is more than capable of supplying power to the small motors.
You need to see if the motors are getting a supply voltage.
A schematic of the circuit would be extremely useful here. See if you can find one on the internet.

Martin

Dogbertd

Oct 17, 2022
Thanks! That's very helpful. I was able to check that the motors would spin if given a separate voltage (from a battery) and they do. So the problem doesn't seem to be with the motors or the mechanics, and if the ribbon cable can supply a power source, then the question becomes does it, and if not, why not?

I don't know if it's OK to post circuit diagrams here, so I'm attaching it in the hopes that perhaps it will make the story clearer.

Herewith some photos of the CD unit.

IMG_0952.JPG

IMG_0950.JPG

IMG_0948.JPG

Thanks again!

Attachments

• arcam_solo_mini_issue2_sch.pdf
    1.6 MB · Views: 10

Martaine2005