Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Arduino control of model train signalling (was: LED Power Supply for Control Panel)

P4 Modeller

Jan 4, 2013
Hi Everyone

I am seeking some knowledge and assistance for a new project i am starting, but first a little about me, which i hope will help you when posting a reply.

I am by no means a qualified electrician but dabble with some great results and for the most part am self taught. Most projects involve models in some shape or form. Often my ideas at first seem easily achievable but only when i go deeper into that project i hit a brick wall..

....I've hit one such brick wall :eek:

The Control Panel Project

The Control Panel in question is for a P4 scale exhibition Model Railway Layout of Eridge in Kent. The layout itself is DCC operated.

My Goal is to create a user friendly "dark" control panel, by which i mean something that a visitor or guest operator can easily use and by dark i mean only set routes will be lit.

My intention is to have a black perspex background with the track design mounted onto this by means of lining tape (undecided on colour). This will be drilled to accept 3mm LED's and the switches (MO Push Button) . An outer panel of smoke perspex will be laid over this sandwiching the track. The switches will then extend through this smoke perspex facia.

The idea is that the route will be set by tracking your finger over the route that you wish to set and pressing the buttons you pass on the way. These buttons will operate the turnouts on the layout and the route will be lit when the relevant signals are set to the correct sequence.

So here is the layout design.

attachment.php

The MO Push Button switches are shown above

And Here are the LED's ( Shown All Lit)

attachment.php

Now the Sequences (The switches are highlighted as green if pressed)

Sequence 1

attachment.php

Sequence 2

attachment.php

Sequence 3

attachment.php

Sequence 4

attachment.php

Sequence 5

attachment.php