Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Arduino Resets -- Why?

RobG

Mar 10, 2021
I’m a mechanical engineer who rekindled my interest in electronics. I started a modest project, and I think I’m stuck on a couple small points.

The project uses an Arduino as a smart timer which periodically activates a 12V car horn via an relay module based on the “SRD-12VDC-DL-C”. Power is supplied to the system from a 12V wall wart. The 12V is dropped to 5V via an LM7805 which feeds the Arduino and the relay relay/horn (See the diagram). That’s it! But I have a couple problems:

1. At times, when the car horn sounds, the Arduino resets. The power supply can do up to 6A and I was able to measure that the horn takes about 3A. The horn sounds for about a second at a time. The Arduino obviously takes much less power. Why should the horn sounding cause the Arduino to lose power? (I have no scope to prove this is what's happening.) Can this be? If so, how can it be avoided?

2. Unrelated, the LM7805 heats up, even when the horn is not sounding, and the only power is going through the system powers the Arduino. Why should this be?

Any help would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Diagram.jpg

bertus

Nov 8, 2019
Hello,

Is the relays module not 12 Volts?
Arduino relays 12v.jpg
Also, what are the values of the capacitors?

Bertus

kpatz

Feb 24, 2014
As Bertus asked, what are the values of the capacitors? The reset is probably due to inductive noise from the horn, or a voltage sag depending on how much load the horn puts on the power supply.

7805 is a linear regulator, meaning whatever voltage (actually, power) that is dropped to bring the 12V to 5V is lost as heat. The amount of heat depends on the current draw of your Arduino and relay module (I assume the relay module has a driver circuit since it has a Vcc pin?)

If there's no driver in your relay module, you'll want a flyback diode across the relay coil to protect the Arduino output.