Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Art Project Help (Complete beginner)

jksculpt

Sep 6, 2014
Hello,
I am hoping to find some help for a piece I am working on. I am completely unfamiliar with electronics so I am sorry if I do not explain things the best. I will try to explain, however, to the best of my ability in hope you all can understand what it is I am hoping to do.
I am trying to have two lights flash in automated morse code as if they are having a conversation. They will be run off AC and I am hoping to use 25w incandescent bulbs for effect. I have been looking at arduino set ups but am having a hard time understanding what it is I need or if I need them. My preference would be to figure out how to do it all mechanically, though that is because that is where I am more inclined.
Ultimately I would like to have one of the two outcomes/ ways of doing achieving the final goal or conversation between lights:
1. Is that one light would start its message, then the other light would interrupt ( as the first keeps 'talking' ) due to a time differential in the beginning of the message for each light. I would like this to happen as randomly as possible so there is not a definite sequence or at least not easily conceived.
2. Have light one start then have light two interrupt do to sensing light one beginning whilst still hoping for the same final outcome as #1
Thanks,
jksculpt

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
First off. Welcome to Electronics Point.
Secondly, please do not post duplicates. Hopefully a mod can delete the copy here : <Obsolete>

Third: What you want is absolutely possible and will not require many components.