Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Balancing act RLC circuit

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,286
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,286
Hi there, I want to make a circuit and have an analogy if the capacitor bank is a bucket, and charge is the water filling the bucket and is acumalating charge, and the resistor is a hole in the bottom of the bucket and the buckets being filled by a tap of intermitant flow and if the hole is big, lots of water will flow but if it's too big then it will empty the bucket faster than it's being filled too small and the flow will do no worthy amount of work. I want a steady flow of DC current and voltage, the bridge rectifier is the tap the charge is the water, the caps are the bucket and additional to that the flow is the current! I want to balance a inductor with cap bank of 16000uf and a power resistor of 20ohm I don't know what the inductor in this system represents! or it's value that it should be!1702382648934.png
 

Attachments

  • 1702381157856.png
    1702381157856.png
    25.7 KB · Views: 2
Last edited:

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,286
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,286
looks good to me!! 150watts and 2.75amps, will check actual numbers later today!! ps I wear rubber gloves, had the resistor the wrong way around current was showing negative flipped it 180degree how do I put in a 20watt load??1702386593250.png
1702385793133.png
1702384255038.png1702383776676.png
 
Last edited:

bertus

Moderator
Nov 8, 2019
3,259
Joined
Nov 8, 2019
Messages
3,259
Hello,

Read the attached PDF about powersupply circuits.
From page 24 and on there are formulas for the things you do.

Bertus
 

Attachments

  • Unit12.pdf
    788.3 KB · Views: 4

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,286
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,286
so this is the voltage power and current graph with a 20watt load resistor but when I click current of the 20ohm resistor it shifts the voltage on the 20watt load to a corrosponding approximate 8volts when it should still be at around 501702462580444.png1702462733975.png
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
13,632
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
13,632
with a 20watt load resistor
That is not 20 W but 20 Ω.
it shifts the voltage on the 20watt load to a corrosponding approximate 8volts
No, it doesn't. As is shown on top of the graph the blue line is for the current through R2: 1702463160433.png which is at ~0.4 A (50 V / 135 Ω = 0.37 A).


By the way: please use labels to name the nodes in your schematic. An indication of e.g. V(n002) doesn't tell us anything as we don't know which node is n002.
When you use labels, the relevant nodes can easily be identified, see this example:
1702463480443.png
 

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,286
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,286
ok please can you tell me how to label the nodes, I've been wodering this for some time, thanks! and also how do I set a 20watt load in LTSpice, it's ok guys I got it a bit, BUT I don't know how to label the current and power1702464998468.png
 
Last edited:

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,286
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,286
I read the manual! I still do not know how to set a 20watt load though, any suggestions?
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
13,632
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
13,632
I still do not know how to set a 20watt load though
power is calculated from [math]P = \frac{V^2}{R}[/math]
which resolves to [math]R = \frac{V^2}{P}[/math]so with known P and V you can calculate the required R.
 

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,286
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,286
ok that is what I did last time I think you got confused because bothe the power is 20 watts and the resistor is 20ohm so the result is 151!
1702543320067.png
 

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,286
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,286
(v^2)/P = (55^2)/20 =151ohm so the 20 watt load resistor is approximatly 150ohm
 
Top