Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Basic Function for Stepper Motor for Beginner

kavinuma

Dec 1, 2013
Hi,

I am a beginner n00bzorz with circuits, and for this project I'm working on, it was recommended that I use a stepper motor for its precise rotation. So I bought a stepper motor, but I have absolutely no idea how to use it. It's a 4 phase 5 wire lead stepper motor, which looks a lot like this:

http://www.geeetech.com/wiki/index....ase_5-Wire_&_ULN2003_Driver_Board_for_Arduino

I don't know how to hook it up, and I don't know how to operate it at all. Our project was originally complex, but we have dumbed it down considerably. We are using an electrical signal from the eye (EOG http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electrooculography) to control a prosthetic eye to rotate synchronously. We are only working with left and right movements and it's pretty much three positions for the eye: left, right, and middle. So what I need to do is use the right movement output to rotate the stepper motor let's say 70 degrees and the left 70 degrees the other way. But again, I have no idea what I am doing. If anyone can help, I would greatly appreciate it.

- kavinuma

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Perhaps the easiest would be a simple microcontroller and a stepper motor driver.

I would probably look at either arduino or picaxe. Both have lots of beginner support and what you want to do should be pretty easy to achieve.

If you or anyone else on your team(?) have experience with programming one of these devices, go with that one. If there is C experience, go Arduino. If Basic experience, go PicAxe. Otherwise, look at the available information for each and make your own mind up.

An arduino board and a "stepper shield" may require that you do almost no wiring up of things. A PicAxe will require you to connect the chip on a breadboard.

There may be other options that I've missed, but these are the ones I'd me looking at for a beginner.

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3