Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Basic LED help please!

mowgli2084

Jun 21, 2014
Hello,

I'm very new to electronics and aside from a brief overview in a physics class at school have limited knowledge. I'm trying to learn from the internet but I've come up against a problem.

I'm trying to power the following IR LED from a 12v power source.

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/ir-leds/7845787/

In looking at the spec sheet I read the power required is 2W and the forward current is 1A making the voltage 2V right? I've been looking at resistors to use for this setup and have used a calulator to find that I should be using a 10 ohm resistor, I guess to provide me with 1.2A.

When I do use a 10 ohm resistor it blows up by smoking. I've checked with a camera, the LED is powered but the resistor burns out. What am I doing wrong?

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thank you, Tom

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
What wattage resistor are you using sounds like it's too small it should be at least 5W? Also that is the maximum current the device can handle, do you need it to be that powerful? You can run them at a lower power level.
Adam
edit: yes sorry power rating of resistor should greater than 10W.

Last edited:

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Right, it sounds like your resistor needs to be rated for a much higher power dissipation.

Your LED requires 1A (that's a LOT for a LED, especially continuously!) and dissipates 2W, so yes, the voltage across the LED will be 2V.

Voltages in series add together, so your resistor will drop the rest of the voltage, i.e. (12V - 2V) = 10V. And it will have 1A flowing through it. The amount of power it will dissipate can be calculated as P = V I = 10 x 1 = 10W. That's why it's going up in smoke.

Can you give us a link to the part number and/or data sheet for the LED? I think you're running too much current through it.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010