Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Beginner Circuit question

Wotan

Oct 8, 2011
Hi I am new to electronics and have some questions about reading circuit diagrams. When I look at circuit diagrams I don't know which order the wires, resistors etc are supposed to join to the breadboard. Finding out what the symbols mean is easy enough, it's just the order I can't work out. Here is an example of a circuit I have tried to put together but it's not working-

2 led-flasher-555.gif

Can someone please explain to me how to read this diagram? I have looked all over the internet on reading diagrams but the information I have found has not been detailed enough. Or if there is a step by step guide somewhere on the internet that tells you how to put together a circuit by working off a schematic explaining why each step is done that way that would be ideal.Thanks.

Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
What happens when you build it?

Does anything get hot?

Can you show us a picture of the breadboarded circuit?

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
If a circuit does not work, then an understanding of what it shoud do is necessary and then an investigation of what it does do may find the problem.

I have not used a 'breadboard' but I did nail some valve holders to a plank about 60 years ago to make a radio.

Voltage measurements on the circuit you have would give an indication of what is happening. Looking at the circuit, you have two leds in series with two resistors across the power supply. Even if the 555 is not connected, these leds should light showing that power with the correct polarity is available and the connections of this part of the circuit are correct.

The 555 connects the resistor juction either to V+ or ground. You could try disconnecting the 555 and doing this by hand to see that one led should brighten and the other should extinguish. If that all works then move to the 555 circuit.

OLIVE2222

Oct 2, 2011
Hi,