Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Beginner question regarding battery charge and circuits

alphaai

May 24, 2011
Hello,

I am newbie here who has some questions. Hoping someone could help explain why to me.

1) Electronic components draw battery charge from a battery only when component is connected in a circuit to that battery. What happens if the component receives too much current? will it blow and will that cause a break in the circuit?

2) So lets say I had three circuits, A, B, C and I wanted to see how I could best maintain battery charge without blowing up electronic components that are located in circuit C and without increasing loss of power via adding resistors, could I build a circuit where I tell the circuit, "ok I would like current to flow down circuit A","I also would like current to flow down circuit B" (if I decide to), and "I would like current to flow down to circuit C". How is that achieved?

Thanks,

Ben

Last edited:

Colin Mitchell

Aug 31, 2014
"electronic components that are located in Area C "
You only have to be careful of components located in area 51

chopnhack

Apr 28, 2014
Diodes could serve the purpose to some extent as they act as one way valves for flow, switches and transistors for that matter too. There is a slight loss across the diode - certainly not the most efficient way to reduce power. Can you elaborate more on what you want to accomplish and what parts you are working with?

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Hi Ben and welcome to Electronics Point :)
Electronic components draw battery charge from a battery only when component is connected in a circuit to that battery.