Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Best way to reducing voltage

GerCer

Jul 16, 2016
Hello!

I'm designing a SMD circuit. Since it's my first time doing a SMD i was wondering which was the best way to reduce the voltage.

The IC i'm going to use, needs max 3.3V to work. I was gonna use a CR2032 coin cell but is too big for the design. So i was thinking about using a 3.8V Li-Po rechargeable battery and reduce the voltage to no less than 2.7V to power the IC. I know there are some ways to do this, like a voltage divider, diodes or a linear voltage regulator. I must know when the battery needs to be charged so i can´t use a regulator. But i don´t know which one would be the best option for low power consumption and smallest size possible.

Thank you,
GerCer

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
I'm designing a SMD circuit. Since it's my first time doing a SMD i was wondering which was the best way to reduce the voltage.

There's nothing magic about SMD. The same components are available.

A low dropout 3.3V regulator would probably work for you. If the chip can operate down to 2.7V then the whole circuit will probably run until the battery voltage drops to 2.8V (which is considered "flat" for lipo).

You can use a regulator and still detect the battery voltage, in fact you pretty much MUST have a voltage regulator of some sort to provide a reference voltage to which the battery voltage is compared.

If your chip can operate at up to 4.1V out higher) then you may not need a regulator at all (for the chip)

As to how to measure the voltage and annunciate that the battery needs to be charged, that depends what your doing. If that chip is a microcontroller turn you may be able to do everything in software plus a LED on an unused pin (or even dual purpose an existing display element).

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016