Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Bike Computer PCB Repair

srracer

Jul 31, 2013
Hi folks,

A quick background so you know what skill level you're all dealing with - I'm a mechanical systems engineer that works in a major semiconductor Tester manufacturer.. so I know the basics of what components do and some simple DC circuits. I'm slightly better than a novice with a soldering iron, but perhaps not much. I've built some of my own circuit boards for a couple of hobby projects but all real basic (no reverse voltage protection stuff in my designs!). I do have access to some nifty tools at work, though.

I have a PCB from an SRM Powercontrol V. This board takes in signals from a power meter and incorporates them with other standard bicycle computer data (heart rate monitor, speed, etc).

The PCB will not power up. I purchased it as part of a bike purchase and the previous owner said it never worked for him (he bought it used) and believed that all that was needed was the battery needed to be replaced. When I asked him if he had the charger - he said "what charger?". The unit looked to be in *such* new condition, that I wondered if perhaps the only thing wrong was that it needed to be charged. So I bought the plug I needed and with some research of others that have used this unit, learned the wiring for the charger connection.

I connected the charger and.....nothing happened. This is when I made some seemingly bad decisions...

I thought that the unit would power up with the charger connected... after more research later, it appears that if the battery is fully gone, then even the charger connection will not power up the unit. But I made the mistake of attaching the 12v to a couple of the other connector leads to see if any voltage showed up at the battery... I got nothing up there (hopefully I didn't fry any of the sensor inputs in doing so).