Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Bought Massage Chair Blowing Fuses Capacitor Destroyed

Mrtelectric

Aug 12, 2020
Hi. First post here. Start off let me tell you I am a licensed electrician but not too much experienced with electronic boards. Get right to the point. Purchased an expensive massage chair in an auction and was extremely excited to receive today. But, when I finished the set-up no power. Took out fuse, blown. Now this kinda scared me because why was it blown to begin with? So I just installed another glass time delay fuse and and flash boom. So took apart didn't see any signs of any shorts nothing on wire but looked closely at where the flash came from and it was directed in front of power cord connection at the capacitor. Any suggestions much appreciated thank you?

Attachments

• IMG_2484.jpg
    IMG_2484.jpg
    53.1 KB · Views: 28

Mrtelectric

Aug 12, 2020
BTW...I wiped off a little soot off yellow capacitor and I clearly see a hole in it.

Mrtelectric

Aug 12, 2020
Hi. First post here. Start off let me tell you I am a licensed electrician but not too much experienced with electronic boards. Get right to the point. Purchased an expensive massage chair in an auction and was extremely excited to receive today. But, when I finished the set-up no power. Took out fuse, blown. Now this kinda scared me because why was it blown to begin with? So I just installed another glass time delay fuse and and flash boom. So took apart didn't see any signs of any shorts nothing on wire but looked closely at where the flash came from and it was directed in front of power cord connection at the capacitor. Any suggestions much appreciated thank you?
Is this a safety capacitor?

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Hi Mrelectric, it looks like a thermistor. You can use your multimeter and check for a short across the live and neutral lines.
If shorted, remove it from the PCB and check the lines again for a short.

Martin

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015