Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Bridge Rectifier Help

Ad Astra

Feb 22, 2012
Hey everyone!

I am a relative newbie to electronics and was hoping to get the advice and suggestions of those who are wiser in the subject than I. I am putting together a demo of a Hoeken's linkage for my Machine Dynamics class, but I would like to motorize it to avoid tedious hand-cranking. For this purpose, I have purchased a low-rpm 24 VDC motor that I would like to be able to plug in and avoid having to constantly buy 12V alkalines to run the thing.

Now, I have built a simple bridge rectifier using 1N4004 silicon diodes and a 120VAC/12VAC transformer in the past, but that was years ago and my requirements for this bridge are a little different than that one. So, I was hoping for tips or advice on a few things:

1) For a rectified 24 VDC, I would require a transformer with 16-18 VAC output on the secondary windings, is that correct?

2) What sort of VA rating should I be looking for on the transformer if I intend to use this motor (175mA @ no load)?

3) I would like to maintain a steady DC voltage, so I know I have to use a capacitor for filtering, but how much capacitance would be required?

4) If I wish to wire in a switch, should that be wired to the power supply or just the motor?

Any help that anyone could offer would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!:)

jackorocko

Apr 4, 2010
2. 10VA should do it. I figured it out for 350mA, but depends on your current requirements under load.

3. 1000 - 3300uF should be more then sufficient and rather cheap at 24VDC

Ad Astra

Feb 22, 2012
2. 10VA should do it. I figured it out for 350mA, but depends on your current requirements under load.

3. 1000 - 3300uF should be more then sufficient and rather cheap at 24VDC

Thank you, jackorocko, for your answers. Just out of curiosity, how did you come to a value of 10 VA? Is there some sort of calculation you can perform in order to determine that, or is it just something that comes with experience?