Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Building an adapter - dual quarter-inch and 3.5 mm, to 3.5 mm

Subtox

Mar 8, 2016
I'm a novice so please excuse my possibly bad phrasing and electronics ignorance...

I have a Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 audio recording interface (shown here), which has two 1/4" output jacks for studio monitors. I don't have monitors yet but I have a nice set of PC speakers (Bose Companion 3) that I'd like to use. Due to software limitations I haven't been able to feed the audio from the audio interface to the PC speakers through the operating system (still waiting on their tech support for a reply on this).

So if that ultimately falls through, I'd like to build an adapter to share the speakers between my PC and the audio interface. It would look something like this:

z7Rw328.jpg

I have found plenty of dual 1/4" to 3.5 mm adapters (like this), but none that also have another 3.5 mm plug coming in. Is this possible by simply splicing together the wires, or does some special circuitry need to happen at the junction point?

ramussons

Jun 10, 2014
How about combining with this...?

3.5mm Mic Stereo Audio Y Splitter 1 Female to 2 Male Adapter Cable

$_12.JPG

saw it on eBay

Subtox

Mar 8, 2016
Thanks for the reply! It seems like that should work but after more reading I'm led to understand that I should be adding resistors on the tip and ring connections to prevent damage (to the devices and/or speakers? I'm not sure which).

I found plans for a simple Altoids tin mixer here that I think I'm going to try. This plan is for only 3.5mm jacks but I can easily swap one of them for two 1/4" jacks. I might also add volume knobs.

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
Your wiring might blow up the amplifiers if the pc and the audio interface are both connected together. Added resistors will ruin the sound. Volume controls and a mixer are never connect to the output of an amplifier, they are always at the input.

ramussons

Jun 10, 2014