Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Building Portable AC power supply

alex ezorsky-lie

Aug 27, 2015
I have some hobby experience building my own small li-ion power packs for small electronics projects, but now I've come across the desire to use li-ion to power more common devices such as laptops, video projectors (especially) and sound systems etc.

This led me to the thought of creating a huge li-ion pack and using an inverter to make it AC. Essentially the goal would be to make one of these "400W li-ion solar power generators" for 1/4 the cost. Also, while I would be looking for a similar 400W max output (350W for mid-sized video projectors) I wouldn't need the 33AH, more like 3-7AH

The quick math suggests 100 X 3.7V 3860's at roughly 3AH could supply at least 350W for 3hrs which would fit my needs. Of course after heat loss and other inefficiencies caused by DIY cheap lipo-pack building there is some loss to the AC inverter, which brings me to my biggest question.

If my plan is to only use this DIY power pack for creating AC, what voltage setup would be best to start at before converting to AC? Of course arranging it in a 12V array would allow me to use commonly available commercial inverters, but why would it not be better to arrange the batteries into a 110V array, wouldn't that require less work of the inverter?

Sorry if my question too clearly gives away my lack in true electrical engineering knowledge.

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
If you use 110VDC to make an inverter then its output will be a crude squarewave that you would not want to use to power an audio amp or a video projector. Mains electricity is a pure sinewave with few harmonics and its peak voltage is 155.5V for your low voltage 110VAC or the peak voltage is 170V for my normal 120VAC.

alex ezorsky-lie

Aug 27, 2015
Is this more of a commentary on the use of DC-AC inverters for projectors or of using very high DC voltages to invert?