Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Bypassing Treadmill safety switch

Bribbus

Sep 23, 2020
6
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
6
My treadmill safety key circuit seems to have been damaged (you can see evidence of rust) by my sweating possibly...
I have already used contact cleaner, several times, but it did not solve the issue.

Can I by-pass it? If so can you tell me how?
I am aware that the safety device is there for a reason but I need a temporary fix while I figure how to get in touch with the manufacturer, which until now has not communicated back with me at all.

Please look at the pics of the circuit for your reference.

Thanks for looking

Marco
 

Attachments

  • thumbnail_20200923_101434.jpg
    thumbnail_20200923_101434.jpg
    129.1 KB · Views: 16

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
3,335
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
3,335
Most T.M. safety switches are N.O. contacts held N.C. by a magnet or circuit with only two conductors it most likely is a prox sensor which opens the two leads to operate.
A little reverse engineering of the pad should show it.
M.
 

Bribbus

Sep 23, 2020
6
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
6
Minder,

the key itself has a magnet, if that is the magnet you refer about. So is it a proximity circuit? I definitively did not notice any reed switch. So how do I by pass it?
 

Bribbus

Sep 23, 2020
6
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
6
Bertus,

I use the treadmill only for very slow walking (3 km/h), which is virtually super safe even without the key. Yes I have been looking for help around got your same comment. Now, my treadmill does not work and cannot seem to get a replacement part as the manufacture does not answer back.
 

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
3,335
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
3,335
I thought it was two conductors but now I see +5, G & S. most likely scenario is the signal (S) either has to be taken to G(nd) or +5.
You could try either.
M.
 

Bribbus

Sep 23, 2020
6
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
6
Minder (or anybody else who can address this),

just to be clear, can I simply cut the wires and join either S and G or S and +5, right?
 

bertus

Moderator
Nov 8, 2019
2,792
Joined
Nov 8, 2019
Messages
2,792
Hello,

As @Minder said, The S should be connected to either +5 or G, NOT to both, as you will create a short on the power supply if you do.

Bertus
 

Mrwigulz

Jan 17, 2021
1
Joined
Jan 17, 2021
Messages
1
Wait wait so you put your 5v and G wire together? And just left the S wire out of the equation?
 
Top