Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Capacitor as backup to 12v train camera system power

mcates

Apr 3, 2019
Hello,
I am using a 12v step down that then outputs 2 USB 5v 2amp ports. I connect an HDMI 5v transmitter and a GoPro like a camera via USB 5v. I would like to put a capacitor in front of my 12v stepdown to ensure reliable power when the train is moving and sometimes may not have a solid connection to the tracks. I cannot seem to figure out what I need to do this. Looking for help on a simple capacitor backup to a 12volt system for a 1-3 second power loss. I have a Bridge Diode Rectifier before step down and I think I may need to add a Power Resistor and/or a Schottky diode. I am no electronics expert but I am learning... I just not understanding how to use capacitors as a momentary backup to this buck converter... Please, any help would be appreciated and I can share much more on what my situation is.

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
Welcome to EP!
To calculate the capacitor value you need to know :
1) How much current the transmitter draws,
2) How much current the GoPro draws,
3) How low the '12V' input to the 5V regulator (stepdown) can go before the 5V drops unacceptably.

My guess is that you'll need a pretty hefty capacitor.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
If the current is 1 Amp and he needs it for 3 seconds, and the input can drop to 6V before the 5V is in trouble, here is the math:

dV / dt = I / C

6 / 3 = 1 / C
2 = 1 / C
2C = 1
C = 1/2 F

It's only a small supercapcitor!

Bob

mcates

Apr 3, 2019
Hello and thank you both, i have been working on this for some time and the this power capacitor issue is got me for a look. I have it working direct for the tacks and all is well but there are times the train rocks or comes off track and power is interuptted for 1-3 seconds and casuse the system to go out and requires a reset.

Here is what I know for what my draws are
Gopro 2.1 watts 1.5 amp max.
https://cam-do.com/pages/power-consumption-by-gopro-camera-model