Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Capacitor charging itself?

nati levia

Mar 22, 2018
Heya.
I'm a student at high school, I'm over most of the school (at knowledge) and the teacher gave me a test.
The test is easy but there was one question that i don't know (hats the question that summarizes the test),
The question is: How do you recharge a capacitor by itself?.

I must pass the test in 100% so i can go to the collage that i always wanted to go.

nati levia

Mar 22, 2018
Is that truly the original question? No other information given? To what level? in which time? Available tools or material? ...
I'm reading it right now...

It says: A 24v 3300μf capacitor witch is charged to 9v needs to be charged to 24v without any power source

Hopup

Jul 5, 2015
Well if there is no source of energy available its practically impossible.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
I'm reading it right now...

It says: A 24v 3300μf capacitor witch is charged to 9v needs to be charged to 24v without any power source
Is English your native language? WTF is a "capacitor witch"? Some sort of paranormal capacitor? How do you (or your teacher) expect to add energy to any capacitor without using a power source? Is this an advanced course in practical magic, or are you actually studying electronics? Please photograph and post a picture of the actual test question (and its context) since you are "reading it right now..."

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
On another thread, this student found out that this same teacher made a mistake about capacitors.
Then maybe this teacher has a screwed up idea about charging a capacitor?

ChosunOne

Jun 20, 2010
Okay, took me awhile, but I think I've got it. Hold the capacitor by its negative lead and walk across a thick carpet in a low-humidiy room, then touch the positive capacitor lead to the doorknob. Touching it to one of the screws holding on the light switch panel is even better.
Repeat until voltage reads 24V. [/satire]