Maker Pro
Maker Pro

capacitor testing for novice please

poorcol1964

Oct 9, 2018
hi , i have 3 capacitors i need to test 0.5uf 350-450v ( see photo )
please can someone explain in simple terms as i am new at this kinda thing , thanksP_20181023_224912.jpg

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
There is no capacitor test range on that meter.
Could be wrong but I'd say offhand, testing the paper one would not be necessary..
It's so old it a wonder it's not unravelling.
Edit:- focusing in on your photo (rather difficult) I'd say that goes for all of them.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
The yellow one is dead. It has high leakage.

Just guessing, but if anyone is offering odds, I'm sure they favour that position.

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
You need what is called an ESR meter. The Chinese sell a multi-function semi-conductor tester (ostensibly) that also has an ESR function and can be purchased for around £10 - delivered.

But if you are testing for the purpose of re-using then unless you have a specific requirement to re-use those exact parts then we'd recommend you change them for the modern equivalents.

If this is a case of vintage restoration then consider 'stuffing' the old cases with the modern parts.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
An ESR meter won't measure leakage, and leakage is likely to be the major issue for old high voltage capacitors.

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
You will need a 250V DC power supply (old radio?) and measure the voltage with the capacitor in series with the meter. You should get a reading of zero.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
hi , i have 3 capacitors i need to test 0.5uf 350-450v ( see photo )
please can someone explain in simple terms as i am new at this kinda thing , thanksView attachment 43527