Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Car amp repair

static

Jun 27, 2016
Hi all. I'm new to this type of repair, but I figured I would try. I have an early 90's Optimus car amp that Ive had for 15 yrs and it stopped working. There appear to be a few large capacitors leaking unless its supposed to look that way, and also a mini transformer covered in goop. I have uploaded some images of what I have. Mainly I am trying to diagnose what is the problem before I start throwing parts into it. Any info or help would be much appreciated. Thanks
IMG_01662.JPG IMG_0171_2.JPG IMG_0170_2.JPG Board2.JPG

Heliman

Feb 4, 2016
What appears to be leakage is glue. Very common for manufactures to glue components on before soldering.

static

Jun 27, 2016
Oh. that's good to know. So maybe it is the little transformer thing that went bad.
IMG_01672.JPG

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Difficult to say...pic is out of focus and too far from the suspect item.

73's de Edd

Aug 21, 2015
Sir static . . . . . . .

That formulation is one of the BETTER glues .

For starters look at the new YELLOW square designated capacitor pair.
With the board now being "naked" of heatsinking.
Use DC voltage reading of metering to be connected across one and then the other "YELLOW" electrolytic caps , for two tests.
Don't power up for more that 5 seconds to get a reading , in confirming that your power supply, over to
the right, is getting DC power over to your amp section at those caps.

After testing and with no power see if any of the pink transistors are dead shorted by ohmmic testing.

Does the PINK star emitter resistor have a crack slanting across it ?

REREFERENCING:

CAR Amp.png

73's de Edd

Last edited by a moderator:

static

Jun 27, 2016