Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Car ECU think I found the fault?

Donny121

Sep 21, 2018
I am working on a car and it has a fault which occurs when it gets to temprature.

Anyway, I got the ECU stripped and found a spot that looks overheated or maybe just prolonged heat has created a spot that I am concerned about?

I first scraped back all the raised area thinking it was the copper tracks that had blown but they all seem intact. The Diode to the area looks to be the culprit.

Does this mean the diode is faulty? I have a good multimeter and it reads the same ohms in both directions does this mean it is faulty? I know its a different type of diode so not sure quite how to test them.

I am no expert just learning, I used a Mac tools EM710 to test in ohms position.

If faulty how can I get an identical part?
1.jpg
Many thanks

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Symbol is for a zener diode but either way, difficult to test in circuit as there could be other components giving a false reading.

Donny121

Sep 21, 2018
OK, thanks

So if I desolder one leg and test I can use the Ohm meter?

Would this type of heat be typical to find but not be a problem?

The tracks that I have cleaned up seem fine but have no coating could this be an issue? and could there be a problem with the tracks?

dave9

Mar 5, 2017
My initial suspicion is that you're going about this the wrong way, or at least have not mentioned troubleshooting up to this point. The ECM is not usually the culprit for a problem that occurs once an engine reaches full operating temperature.

First what is this "fault" when it gets to temperature? Exactly what happens? Engine just dies? What vehicle year, make, model, and engine?

Does it have OBD1 or OBD2? Have you hooked up a scan tool capable of showing live data and looked at things like the temperature sensor(s), MAF reading, and long term fuel trims? Before even that, does a scan tool show any set or pending OBD diagnostic codes?