Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Career or Degree in Electronics

AMDman

Aug 29, 2016
I don't know how off-topic this is, but I'm sure someone will tell me. I'm currently studying an unrelated (with electronics) engineering career, and I wanted to start studying something that includes both electronics and computer science, but doesn't focus on neither. Ia there something like that?
Thanks in advance and sorry if this is not the point of this forum.

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
There are plenty of good engineers out there who do both, but I don't know of any 'colleges' that teach both as a single discipline. You get a choice of one or the other for degrees. You'd probably have to take both courses of study for individual degrees in electrical engineering, and in computer science. Maybe they do things differently
in Europe?

Austin Clark

Aug 29, 2016
Embedded programming is what you're looking for. You program on raw bare-metal hardware and interface with a wide variety of electronics. Mechanical engineering can also be heavily involved if you're making something that moves like a 3D printer, CNC machine, pen plotter, etc;
Systems engineering and control theory can be relevant in a lot of applications as well.

It's a really interdisciplinary field.

AMDman

Aug 29, 2016
Embedded programming is what you're looking for.

Yes I´m currently studying G, which is for CNC lathes, but that kind of knowledge is not what I´m looking for. I mean, for example in my country you can study electronic engineering, in which you´d learn basic C, Python, Java and a lot of electronics. But that´s the problem, it focuses on electronics. I´m looking for a more balanced degree.
Maybe my problem is that I´m just looking to learn, not to apply that knowledge.