Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Charging a battery from well pump circuit (cycles on/off 120v)

AJ Peacock

Aug 25, 2019
Hi all,

I'm planning a flagpole install in my front yard. I want to light the flag at night and don't like the solar options for my location. Nor is it possible to run power to this location. The flagpole will be about 10' from my well head.

Here is what I'd like to do and I need some help.

I plan to cover the well head with a large fake rock.
Pull 120v off of the well wiring (wire nuts under well head cover).
Charge a small 12v AGM (or other weather resistant battery) under the rock).
Power a 12v LED flag light mounted in/on the rock (with a photo sensor).

I have a good friend that is an electrician and can deal with the 120v.

My question is how best to charge the battery considering the 120v power is only hot when the well is running.

I'm not a complete Noob w/re to electronics, but I typically know just enough to get me in trouble!

I was thinking a capacitor (or multiple) could be charged when the well circuit is energized, then feed a small 12v charger from the capacitor.

Also, the well is 230v and has 3 wires running to it.

I really appreciate any opinions/ideas.

Thanks,
AJ

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
You never said how much current the light needs and for how long.
A capacitor can hold enough charge to activate a charger for a few seconds but a battery needs hours to charge.
I doubt that the well pump runs long enough to charge anything.
How about using a fairly large windmill generator to charge the battery?

AJ Peacock

Aug 25, 2019
Alec_t - The well is 230v and the pressure switch is double pole. So it is either all hot or not hot.