Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Charging cap with three phase

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrew Borg

Aug 10, 2014
42
Joined
Aug 10, 2014
Messages
42
Sir I need to charge a capacitor with three phase generator. Did three diode bridge but not charging. Any clue pls?
Thks
 

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
5,364
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
5,364
Draw out your circuit.
Three diodes will need a four wire drive.
Six diodes in a bridge can operate without the common wire.
 

Andrew Borg

Aug 10, 2014
42
Joined
Aug 10, 2014
Messages
42
Hi duke37 you're right I meant six diodes regarding the bridge. I connected the three wires coming out of the generator to the middle of those six diodes but cap not charging.
 

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
5,364
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
5,364
Draw out your circuit.
Disconnect the bridge,
Measure the resistance between the alternator outputs. Three readings.
Measure the output voltage between the three alternator outputs when running. Three readings.

Measure the resistance or voltage drop of each diode at both polarity. Twelve readings.
If one reading is different to the rest, disconnrct one end and measure it on its own.
Measure voltage drop across the bridge at each polarity. Two readings.
 

Andrew Borg

Aug 10, 2014
42
Joined
Aug 10, 2014
Messages
42
Draw out your circuit!
Draw out your circuit.
Disconnect the bridge,
Measure the resistance between the alternator outputs. Three readings.
Measure the output voltage between the three alternator outputs when running. Three readings.

Measure the resistance or voltage drop of each diode at both polarity. Twelve readings.
If one reading is different to the rest, disconnrct one end and measure it on its own.
Measure voltage drop across the bridge at each polarity. Two readings.
Thanks guys for response here is my circuit but capacitor not charging don't know why is this??!!!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20191114_091729.jpg
    IMG_20191114_091729.jpg
    90.6 KB · Views: 23

bertus

Moderator
Nov 8, 2019
2,721
Joined
Nov 8, 2019
Messages
2,721
Hello,

Can you measure the AC voltage between the phases?

Bertus
 

bertus

Moderator
Nov 8, 2019
2,721
Joined
Nov 8, 2019
Messages
2,721
Hello,

What capacitor do you use?
You have given no information on that.

Bertus
 

bertus

Moderator
Nov 8, 2019
2,721
Joined
Nov 8, 2019
Messages
2,721
Hello,

You say you have tried several capacitors.
What where the values of them?
Is there a load accross the capacitor?
Depending on the load, the capacitor will be drained sooner or later.

Bertus
 

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
5,364
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
5,364
Unless youu have a very sophisticated meter, it will discharge the capacitor. To get a significant discharge time you will need a large electrolytic capacitor and a meter with 10M input resistance.
 

Andrew Borg

Aug 10, 2014
42
Joined
Aug 10, 2014
Messages
42
Hello,

You say you have tried several capacitors.
What where the values of them?
Is there a load accross the capacitor?
Depending on the load, the capacitor will be drained sooner or later.
Bertus
No I tried with no load

Unless youu have a very sophisticated meter, it will discharge the capacitor. To get a significant discharge time you will need a large electrolytic capacitor and a meter with 10M input resistance.
I used it on other capacitor without problem.
 

davenn

Moderator
Sep 5, 2009
14,077
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
14,077
deletion and tidy up

Thread closed
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top