Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Charlieplexing 64 Switches

Paddy Mc Dermott

Mar 18, 2015
Hi, this is my first time posting.

I am trying to make a chess playing robot and I am struggling with the sensors. I am putting a magnetic switch underneath each square of the board and a magnet in each chess piece to set it on/off. From what I have seen online I think charlieplexing would be a good technique because I would not have to buy any extra chips, am I right in saying that?

Attached is a schematic I was given for my circuit but I don't really understand it. Could someone try and explain it to me. Why are the switches in the opposite direction on either side of the diagonal?

Attachments

• ChessboardCharlieplex.jpg
    ChessboardCharlieplex.jpg
    81.1 KB · Views: 144

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
Charlieplexing is good only for lighting ONE LED at a time in an array of LEDs. It takes advantage of the diode characteristic of an LED to allow two LEDs connected in anti-parallel to illuminate independently, but not simultaneously. Read the Wikipedia article for enlightenment. The article also has some good links at the Resources section at the end. Sensing independently closed multiple switches is not the same thing.

There is no advantage to trying to charlieplex your 8x8 array of chess board positions. At any given time you will have as many as thirty-two switches closed simultaneously, at almost random positions on the board. I know of no charlieplexing scheme that will unambiguously identify the location of those switches.