Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Cheap, Easy Way to Step Down 12-14VDC to 5VDC?

wingman358

May 18, 2015
Hello all,

I am making a custom gauge cluster for a motorcycle. The bike currently uses 12V 3.4W incandescent bulbs for the warning/indicator lights in the gauge cluster (hi-beam, water temp, oil pressure, etc). I believe the bulbs are ground switched.

I would like to replace the entire cluster with a microcontroller so I can eventually set it up to log data. I would like to have the 12V warning/indicator signals to be connected to the microcontroller (as a 5V digital input) so I can trigger warning LEDs as well as log the occurrence. I think there are many ways I could connect the signal to the board, but I am not sure what would be best.

I'm not very experienced with electronics, so my first thought was relays or buck converters, but I've since thought regulators, zener diodes or transistors could do the trick, though I am not sure about it. A friend told me I could do a simple voltage divider out of resistors, but I'd rather not have to dissipate 3+ Watts into heat per indicator - unless I am missing something here.

Any tips for a simple and effective circuit?

Thanks.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
Google buck switching regulators if your intent is to power the microcontroller. There are integrated circuits available that require minimal external components. And of course you can purchase them ready-made too.