Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Clueless to read capacitor._.

Darth Chauncey

Mar 14, 2021
I'm a newb and not even sure if I am posting correctly, being I am asking a question - but here goes. I purchased a brand new Mobo and upon installing it, my clumsy ass knocked off a capacitor before even getting to USE it! I have searched and hunted for a replacement but to no avail. I could solder it on easily enough althoughI cant understand how to read it so I dont even know what Im looking for.
It says on top;
FP5K
33Cx
as far as I can tell. Can anyone tell me where I might get one or something equivalent? H E L L L P!

bertus

Nov 8, 2019
Hello,

Can you post a picture?
Pictures upto 300 kB are no problem to post.
It could wll be an 820 pF capacitor.

Bertus

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
According to the datasheet @Hunter64 linked in post #4 this would be a 820 µF capacitor.
A bit funny is the voltage designator "03" as there is no 3 V capacitor in the datasheet. It is possibly rounded off for a 2.5 V capacitor. Would that match the operating voltage present on the capacitor's pins?

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
... Would that match the operating voltage present on the capacitor's pins?
Just guessing, but the self-described newb may not have a clue (or the multimeter) required to measure the voltage drop across the capacitor pins, assuming the damaged cap can be successfully removed from the multi-layer circuit board and a replacement soldered in without damaging the circuit board. I would take the mobo to a computer repair shop and have a skilled technician replace the capacitor.

bertus

Nov 8, 2019
Hello,

The datasheet that @Hunter64 posted shows that there are 6.3 volts capacitors of 820 uF are available.

Bertus

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
According to the datasheet @Hunter64 linked in post #4 this would be a 820 µF capacitor.