Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Common Base

Wade Yaden

Jun 25, 2016
1. For the circuit shown in Figure 3 below, draw the DC load line and locate its quiescent or DC working point. Show all work.
I have never done a common base problem before and our book does not go over this. Our book says to mentally "short" out the transistor to find Current Saturation Point. And "open" transistor to find the Voltage Cutoff. Once I short the transistor not sure how to calculate the current. Little lost on this..Just want to be able to understand what to do...

upload_2016-6-24_19-13-51.png

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
if you short out the transistor, what is the combined voltage across Vb and Vl?

for the purposes of calculation you might also want to include Ib in your final calculation, but this may be both unknown and small

Wade Yaden

Jun 25, 2016
Thats the question Im asking. If I short the transistor out. How do I treat each resistor (label). The same - different. This is our first week in transistors. Can I do KVL in a loop and treat them the same. All the problems I have to reference in the one chaper we started are all common emitter.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Take the transistor out and place a line between where the emitter and collector were connected.

Wade Yaden

Jun 25, 2016
And?? I think we have established the part of shorting out the transistor. I stated this in the original post. Yes a line across the collector and emitter. How do I treat the problem( 2 voltages 2 resistors). If that was misunderstood. That was my original question.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Two voltages mean one voltage difference does it not?

Herschel Peeler

Feb 21, 2016
Take the transistor out and place a line between where the emitter and collector were connected.

If you take the transistor out you lose the E-B voltage. So short Emitter to Collector. W