Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Comparator for anemometer

HgInNY

Jul 2, 2013
Hello,

This is my first time building a circuit and I'm having trouble getting it to perform the way I had hoped. I have an anemometer to measure wind speed that puts out an AC sine wave from 0 up to 8V athough I don't really anticipate getting 8V unless there is a hurricane. What I want to do is turn the wave into pulses varying from <0.8V for off to between 2 and 2.2V for on. Once I have my pulses digital pulses my software will convert that to windspeed. I have an op amp to use as a comparator. My basic set up is shown in the picture attached. when I hook it up all I'm getting is my sine wave moved to around 2V but the magnitude isn't increased and therefore I'm just getting an on digital signal. If you could tell me what I'm doing wrong and suggest how to make this work I would be super stoked.

attachment.php

Attachments

• cct.gif
    cct.gif
    5.2 KB · Views: 1,047
Last edited by a moderator:

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
The TL081 needs a minimum of 5V supply. See TI data sheet.

It is best to have the positive at the top of the diagram and the common connection below.

Have you got the power connected properly, you do not give details of the TL081 pins.
R3 does nothing other than reduce the output voltage because of the low supply voltage.

HgInNY

Jul 2, 2013
Hi,
Sorry the actual op amp I'm using is NE5532AN in an 8 pin configuration. See the data sheet at http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/17978/PHILIPS/NE5532AN.html Output is conected to pin 1 with the branching resistor going to ground. Pin 2 is attached straight to my 15mV supply, inverting input. Pin 3 is attached to my anemometer with the resistors set up in the way shown in my circuit diagram. Pin 4 is attached to ground. Pin 8 goes to the voltage source. This should theoretically work right? Thanks for the help!

duke37

Jan 9, 2011