Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Component id needed

mcboon

Nov 22, 2023
I am new here so if this needs to go in a different place please let me know. I am repairing an old VCR from the mid 80s and need help identifying the piece in the photo. It was on the main circuit board. I'm thinking it's a capacitor based on photos I've seen but do not see the capacitance. I am not an electronics expert. Any ideas? And where I can get one? Thank you!
tempImage45hMtF.jpg

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
The voltage rating (125VAC) indicates the device may be a VDR (voltage dependent resistor/ surge protector) whose value is nominally 4Mohms dropping to 2.5 ohms as it (rapidly) heats up.

Not seen one in this style before so maybe someone on here else is more familiar with it? A $20 component tester won't actually reveal this - it would just show it as a 'high resistance' or possibly 'OC'.

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
I would put that back!
There are sacrificial lambs. I usually see them get destroyed, kaboom! It looks pristine to me.
If it's a VCR from the 80s that's the least of your worries. Even right now you pull it out of the circuit the circuit should still work with or without it and they are normally used in parallel with the power rails not in series like a fuse or thermistor.
You can get them at digikey, Mouser, Newark element 14.
Looks like a (MOV)Metal Oxide Varistor.
You'll often see them call just Varistors.
The resistance is nonlinear and is dependent on a voltage applied to them.
They are for what is known as transient high voltage protection.
They will Absorb and conduct (clamping) this high voltage to a safe level but like I said I see them go kaboom or because they're for high voltage I say
VA-VOOM! Welcome to Maker Pro. :)

Last edited:

mcboon

Nov 22, 2023
Mystery solved! Thank you very much for the help and the excellent information. I will put it back in and pray for no kaboom!

73's de Edd

Aug 21, 2015
No-no on varistor.