Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Controlling a 28byj-48 stepper motor with picaxe 28x2 chip

Caitlin Sweet

Apr 25, 2017
Im a sixth form student and am looking for some advice on controlling this stepper motor. I need it to stop in a certain place after spinning but only when a button is pressed. I have got the motor to spin and stop but I cannot work out what bits of the program does what as its from the picaxe stepper motor page so I didn't write it myself. I am really struggling in writing the program as I have never done anything like this before.
Many thanks

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
Is the code snippet below anything like what you are trying to work with?

Code:
    let dirsB = %00001111            ; make pins output
main:    for b3 = 0 to 99             ; start a for...next loop
      gosub lstep                ; call left step sub-procedure
    next b3                    ; next loop
    for b3 = 0 to 99            ; start a for...next loop
      gosub rstep                ; call right step sub-procedure
    goto main                ; repeat

lstep:    let b1 = b1 + 1                ; add 1 to variable b1
    gosub stepit                ; do the step
    return

rstep:    let b1 = b1 - 1             ; subtract 1 from variable b1
    return

stepit:    let b1 = b1 & %00000011         ; mask lower two bits of b1
    lookup b1,(%1010,%1001,%0101,%0110),b2    ; lookup code into b2
    let pinsB = b2                ; output b2 onto control lines
    return

This code, a version of BASIC, was copied from this site, which turned up in a Google search using your title for this thread as a search string.
I am really struggling in writing the program as I have never done anything like this before.