Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Controlling battery heat?

memurphy

Feb 16, 2023
I have an project where I am lighting up 3 6v 0.3 amp small lights from a double 9v battery pack wired in series. Although it works fine, the batteries are getting hot very quickly. I’m new at hobby electronics and have read several article in this simple wiring but no mentions of the controlling the heat. I thought the electricity flow would not cause this intense build up of heat and I’m not sure what to do to prevent it. Any pointers to something that will help me understand what’s happening with this simple circuit and preventing the battery heat build up would be appreciated.

Cheers,
Ed

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
If you are referring to the 9v smoke alarm batteries, they are low current devices only.

2 x 9V in series is 18v.............how many of these 3.6v 300mA lights are you running and how are they connected?

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
3 x 6V lamps @ 300mA
Or 3.6V lamps @ 300mA?
What batteries are you using?
Either way, 900mA (almost an Amp) is a lot for a 9V battery and won’t last long at all. It’s rapidly being drained and will get hot.

Martin

Last edited:

memurphy

Feb 16, 2023
Thank you both for the replies and info. I am (obviously) missing the knowledge I sorely need. I attached a picture of the setup. There was a switch between the battery and lights but I removed it while figuring this out. I think I understand and in my simplistic terms, the 3 lights are pulling the power out of the batteries so fast it'll be dead quickly and it will heat up in the process. Anything you can share about balancing the setup so that the batteries last longer and stay a safe temperature would be appreciated (even if just a pointer to a tutorial.) I recognize that part of my problem is that I haven't been able to grasp the math that I've seen on the sites I've been looking at and hence missing something important.

Attachments

• Electrinics.jpg
    Electrinics.jpg
    328.8 KB · Views: 5

bertus