Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Convert 15v turntable to 12v

Status
Not open for further replies.

bloodaxe

Jun 7, 2016
Hello.
I am a total novice and I need some help.

I have a hifi turntable with a 9vdc motor and a 15v input. Why it's 15 I do not know.

Without beating around the bush I want to run my turntable on 12vdc. I can explain why but it's somewhat irrelevant.
So how would I go about this? Is it as simple as changing a transformer?

Many thanks in advance for your help.

In case it's important, it's a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit with speed box (DC motor, auto speed selection)

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Weclome to EP.

I see 2 ways:
  1. Try whether it works on 12V without modification. If so, you're done.
  2. Get a so called boost DC/DC converter or step-up converter like e.g. this one.
Note that a DC/DC converter operates by swtching the DC, then smoothing it with a filter. Depending on the quality of the converter some residual noise from the switcher may be present on the DC. This may or may not have an influence on the audio quality, again depending on the quality of the turntable's power input circuit. Additional filtering may be required.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
I have a hifi turntable with a 9vdc motor and a 15v input. Why it's 15 I do not know.

maybe there's a 15V to 9V regulator in there ..... wouldn't be surprising as the turntable would need a very stable voltage to avoid warbling in the music
caused by fluctuations in the voltage to the motor ( if a regulator didn't exist)

without more info on the turntable ... any other comments would be just guesses

Get a so called boost DC/DC converter or step-up converter like e.g. this one.

you probably mean a buck converter ( not boost) to take the 15V to 12V

Dave

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
maybe there's a 15V to 9V regulator in there ..... wouldn't be surprising as the turntable would need a very stable voltage to avoid warbling in the music