Maker Pro
Maker Pro

D Flip Flop Question

pattoc

Nov 25, 2015
Hi everybody,

I have a question regarding the 7474 IC (D Flip Flop) that I am hoping someone could answer. I fully understand how it works (I think). And using a 555 timer that generates a 1Hz signal that feeds the Enable, I am able to make the 7474 chip work as expected.

However, if I remove the 555 timer from the circuit and try to manually control the Enable by moving a wire to 0 and 1 back an forth to simulate a clock signal, the D Flip Flop no longer works as expected.

Could anybody explain why this wouldn't work? I was expecting the D Flip Flop to still react (to any change in D) when I manually move from 0 to 1 with the wire leading into the Enable.

Please note that my background is Programming and I am mostly self taught in this area so there may be holes in my knowledge. (Sorry.)

Thank you very much for your help.
Pat

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
First, I would think that the 555 would drive the clock input, not the enable. Second, thee is no enable input to a 7474. So answering your question will be difficult until you provide better information.

And a schematic. In an electronics forum, *everything* revolves around the schematic. Please post yours.

Finally, there is a big difference between a 1 Hz electronic signal and manually making contacts touch. When switches or wires touch, the contact area "bounces". That is, it makes and breaks contact several times in 1/1000th of a second. Since a 7474 can respond in less than 1/10th of a microsecond, this causes what appears to be random problems. There are ways around this.

ak

dorke

Jun 20, 2015
Let me add,
"7474" is a generic name.
Please provide the full part name including all the letters in it-they are very important .

pattoc

Nov 25, 2015
Thank you for your reply. And sorry for the lack of details and errors...

The chip I am using is SN74LS74AN.