Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Dc motor - SCR - BR help.

Terry Halstead

Oct 20, 2017
5
Joined
Oct 20, 2017
Messages
5
Hi guys, I'm in the making of a 2x72 belt grinder. Using a dc treadmill motor. I have bought a speed controller from eBay and a bridge rectifier. I need help in wiring it all up.

Specs
15 amp 600volt 4 pin single phase bridge rectifier

Ac 220v 50hz/60hz 400w single phase speed controller output DC 0-220v

1.5 hp 750w dc 220-240v 5A treadmill motor
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20171020-190027.jpg
    Screenshot_20171020-190027.jpg
    172.2 KB · Views: 77

Terry Halstead

Oct 20, 2017
5
Joined
Oct 20, 2017
Messages
5
Hi guys, I'm in the making of a 2x72 belt grinder. Using a dc treadmill motor. I have bought a speed controller from eBay and a bridge rectifier. I need help in wiring it all up.

Specs
15 amp 600volt 4 pin single phase bridge rectifier

Ac 220v 50hz/60hz 400w single phase speed controller output DC 0-220v

1.5 hp 750w dc 220-240v 5A treadmill motor
 

Attachments

  • 1508523421310266304863.jpg
    1508523421310266304863.jpg
    245.5 KB · Views: 90

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
6,498
Joined
Jun 25, 2010
Messages
6,498
Do you have the full spec of (or a link to) the speed controller?

It would appear that all you need do is connect the mains supply input and the motor to the output. The bridge rectifier is not required.
 

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
6,498
Joined
Jun 25, 2010
Messages
6,498
Well it's a 400W speed controller and you're connecting it to a 750W motor...... although it may get the motor spinning, as soon as you load the motor (press on the sand belt) the current consumption may exceed the capacity of the speed controller and, at best, blow the fuse. At worst, blow the controller up.

Your principle is sound but either get the correct rated motor or the correct rated speed controller.
 

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
6,498
Joined
Jun 25, 2010
Messages
6,498
No. That device is a controller for AC motors, not DC. The motor is wired in series with the AC mains supply and controller. Fitting a bridge rectifier (to convert it to DC) won't work (properly) as the AC waveform is necessary for the speed controlling circuit to work.
 

Terry Halstead

Oct 20, 2017
5
Joined
Oct 20, 2017
Messages
5
OK thanks so I wired it up and it's all working. But like you said on high power and under load it will trip out. So I need one for 750w. Any recommendations on one? Much appreciated buddy thanks for your help.
 

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
3,476
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
3,476
You Can use a Triac controller with a DC motor, just place the bridge after the Triac and and wire the motor 'inside' the bridge.
The Chinese often use 'SCR' instead of 'Triac'.
Generally they are used for Universal motors.
It gives you a similar control to the KB DC SCR bridge motor controllers which are a bit more sophisticated but more $$'s
M.
 

Attachments

  • kbic_manual-1.pdf
    569.1 KB · Views: 189
Last edited:
Top