Maker Pro
Maker Pro

DC motor speed control using 8051 and l298

waqas.pieas

May 11, 2012
Hi Everyone out there!
I am new to microcontrollers. I am using AT89C55WD to control H-Bridge (L298) which in turn drives the DC motor.
Circuits for AT89C55WD and L298 work separately very well but hen I give inputs to L298 from microcontroller I don't get the desired behavior.
What is the problem with this and what is the solution...If any one can assist!

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Perhaps you can show us a circuit diagram.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
There are some obvious problems with your circuit diagram.
1. The two capacitors from the crystal to ground are shown as 1uF but they should be in the picofarad range, typically around 22-33 pF each depending on the specifications of the crystal.
2. The way you've drawn a battery connecting to the two switches is very suspicious. These switches should be connected to the VCC rail for the whole circuit, which also needs to connect to the microcontroller.
3. The microcontroller's RESET input (pin 9) probably needs to be connected to something.

Beyond that, you need to provide MUCH more information than just that the microcontroller and motor driver circuits "work well separately" (what do you mean, and how have you tested them?) and "I don't get the desired behaviour" - a full description of the problem, along with measurements and tests you've done so far, is a minimum. A firmware listing may also be needed.

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
2. The way you've drawn a battery connecting to the two switches is very suspicious. These switches should be connected to the VCC rail for the whole circuit, which also needs to connect to the microcontroller.