Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Delay-off switching of a 115v 2amp load

ketchumwt

Oct 18, 2013
I need to design a circuit using a mospec 2N3055 power transistor to control a 115vac-2amp load with a delay off feature of 0-60sec. I know a lot about power applications; I'm a Master Electrician but know very little about electronics. I would greatly appreciate help from someone on this forum.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
A 2N3055 is unlikely to be part of the solution.

Perhaps if you can explain more exactly what you want to do.

Do you want the device to turn on with a switch, but when the switch is turned off, there is a delay between 0 and 60 seconds before the device turns off?

ketchumwt

Oct 18, 2013
Steve, thanks for your reply; I'm developing a freeze proof system for my Recreational Vehicle fresh water supply. Currently when the ambient temperature falls to 34^ a 24vac solenoid valve closes, thus stopping the water flow to my RV; simultaneously a drain valve opens and drains the hose. I have a small Black and Decker air compressor that operates at 115vac-.9amps that simultaneously turns on and blows out any water remaining in the hose; it needs to run for <60sec. and turn off. Of course when the thermostat senses a temperature above 34^ the drain valve closes and the supply valve opens thus supplying water to the RV unit. I own the 2N3055 and thought that I could develop a solution using it. I know I can buy a delay off relay to control the air compressor for about $30 but in an effort to keep the cost down I thought it might be fun to develop a cheaper electronic version. If this is a complex adventure then I'll just buy the delay-off relay. Many thanks

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
A transistor is not good for controlling AC loads, you would want a relay, either electromechanical or solid state. An NE555 timer chip could do the 60 second delay.

Originally you said a 2A load, and now it is a compressor that uses 9A. Which is it?

Bob

ketchumwt

Oct 18, 2013