Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Design and wiring for a UHF antenna

Jason Holland

Mar 5, 2016
Hi,

Forgive my ignorance, but I am new to the concepts of antenna circuitry and design. I am trying to experiment with homemade UHF antennas for wireless microphone applications (470-698 MHz). I have read a great deal about antenna theory, and have some basic understanding of antenna design, but a few concepts are still unclear. Anyone who has an answer or idea, your help would be greatly appreciated:

1) How would one design a highly directional UHF antenna?

2) When designing a monopole antenna, is the coax connected directly to the radiating element? If one lead is connected to the radiating element, and the other is connected to a ground plane, wouldn't that create an open circuit?

3) How do you "balance" an antenna? I am confused as to how to measure the resistance/impedance of a radiating element, and how to balance a dipole antenna. (I do understand how to measure VSWR)

Thank you in advance for your help! I apologize if these are infantile questions, but I am just a rookie.

-Jason

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Hi Jason
Welcome

1) How would one design a highly directional UHF antenna?

a highly directional antenna for 500 MHZ ( mid your range) is VERY big

2) When designing a monopole antenna, is the coax connected directly to the radiating element? If one lead is connected to the radiating element, and the other is connected to a ground plane, wouldn't that create an open circuit?

That's the way it should be connected ( centre of the coax to the base of the radiator, screen of the coax to the ground plane)

only to a DC current

3) How do you "balance" an antenna? I am confused as to how to measure the resistance/impedance of a radiating element, and how to balance a dipole antenna. (I do understand how to measure VSWR)

You can use an Antenna Analyser unit to measure impedance etc of an antenna. In most cases measuring and adjusting VSWR to a minimum is all that is needed