Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Designing my first basic circuit - But have a few Questions

J0n

Nov 13, 2016
Ok… So I am new to all of this type of stuff. So I may be asking very simple and/or stupid questions but I figured I would ask and get feedback from people who know what they are talking about.

So I have been trying to design a simple(ish) circuit to run two 12V DC motors. BUT I want to run them from a Battery and make it useable via the mains while the battery charges. In addition to this I wanted to add a Battery Indicator (to see the battery charge), a Switch (turn on/off) and a Speed Controller (to adjust the speed on the motors). So I have had a go at drawing it out and wanted to get some feedback on it to see if it would even work…

So the main questions I have our:

- Would this circuit even work?

- Do I need to put in Resistors or something to reduce the Amp’s from the Charger going into the battery’s? Or will the Battery be ok taking 10Amp from the battery?

- Placements of the parts in the circuit? Will the battery indicator just show me the charge of the battery or will it show its fully charged when plugged in?

- Would I be able to do this only using a Positive and Negative wire or do I need an earthing wire?

- Is there anything I am missing/overlooked?

I think that’s everything…

Attachments

• Circuit 2.jpg
    Circuit 2.jpg
    82.8 KB · Views: 100

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
There is no need for resistors

The battery is probably 9Ah and will need a charger that supplies far less than 10A.

Other than that your block diagram is basically correct. Normally we would draw it charger, battery, controller, and motor in that order from left to right.

I'm assuming you want to use a lead acid battery. The charge will show higher as you connect the charger. If the charger is not massively too large, the voltage will increase as the battery charges.

J0n

Nov 13, 2016
Thanks for you feed back.