Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Does anyone know what this component is?

Mr_Data

May 3, 2023
Hello,

I'm new to electronics, and trying to learn by myself, i go this component from an old IDE board for an hardrive, for what i can read on the board next to the part there was a designator B502 i looked up what that designator could mean and whatever i could find refered to that as either a Batery or a Motor of some kind, which most likely is none :)

I tried to measure it with a multimeter in continuity mode and beeps, so i tought it might be an inductor, looked up how to measure an inductor in capacitor mode with a multimeter (from what i understood is not accurate, but would give me a ballpark figure) but it reads 0nf

On one of those cheap chineses component testers put it on the pad reads 0 ohms resistor which is consistent with the reading i get in the multimeter, but i'm not actually sure if it's a 0 ohm resistor cos i never saw them in this format. I tried to look it up to the best of my knowledge and can't get to a conclusion.

Any one know what this could be?

component.jpeg

Thanks in advance

ramussons

Jun 10, 2014
It is a Surface Mount Device - SMD.
Could be a Cap, Resistor, Diode or Inductor.
If there is no marking, or location in a schematic, we'll have to test it for all possiblities.

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
Ceramic capacitor 503Picofarad
Equals 0.005 microfarad
You can't measure it with a cheap meter.

Mr_Data

May 3, 2023
Ceramic capacitor 503Picofarad
Equals 0.005 microfarad
You can't measure it with a cheap meter.

If it's a capacitor when i test it with the multimeter in continuity mode, shouldn't it not "beep"? cos this one as i said in my descriptiom, beeps. and my multimeter has 4 digits of precision and read 0.000nf.

And from the board i took it, as i also said above, it has a designator of B and not C, all other caps have C before the number, this one has B and there are a couple more like this on that board like the picture below

Untitled.png