Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Driving an Ultrasound Transducer

Mono

Jan 6, 2012
Hello!
Thanks to the help provided in this thread I was able to produce the pulsed ultrasound signal that I needed. (1.5 MHz sinewave, pulsed at 1kHz, 20% duty cycle, 21 V p-p)
The general design ended being as follows: a signal generator that produces the sinewave, a 555 circuit that controls a 4066 which switches the sinewave and finally a LM318 that amplifies the signal to 21 V peak to peak.

I was getting the correct signal by measuring with the oscilloscope without the transducer load. As I connected the transducer, the circuit worked for about 30s and the shut off and some smoke appeared. It seems no big damage was caused.

What happened? What I have read leads me to believe that I need a transducer driving circuit (disclaimer: I am a total electronic noob). I thought the LM318 handeled the "power"part by amplifying the signal, but it seems that this is a current issue, right?

So my question is: do you have any design advice for an ultrasound transducer driver for this kind of signal?

BTW, on the LM318 datasheet on page 9 it shows a circuit for "isolating large capacitive loads". Will that suffice or do I need other completely different driver circuit?

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
ok
what sort of transducer were you putting that signal into ? -- do you have a link to its data sheet ?
maybe either a) it couldnt handle 1.5MHz or b) it couldnt handle 21Vp-p or c) combination of both

a circuit layout/schematic of your project would help us guys to help you :)

going by the SMA connectors in that DDS sig gene that your link provided it looks to be possibly a RF sig generator

anyway lets see your cct diag
and a complete description on what you are trying to achieve so we all dont have to play 20 questions :)

cheers
Dave

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Where did the smoke come from?