Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Effects of using 50 Hz power on a 60 Hz device.

Hankmars2

Sep 14, 2023
1
Joined
Sep 14, 2023
Messages
1
What can be the expected results if I power my chest freezer compressor with a 50 Hz power supply instead of 60 Hz sine wave?
 

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
3,584
Joined
Jul 7, 2015
Messages
3,584
Welcome to maker.pro!
Assuming the compressor is rated for 60Hz the most obvious result would be a speed reduction. Depending on the motor, its windings might overheat because of a reduction in their impedance.
Is the voltage the same for the two supplies?
 
Last edited:

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
1,810
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
1,810
What can be the expected results if I power my chest freezer compressor with a 50 Hz power supply instead of 60 Hz sine wave?
If you're 50 HZ power supply is a sine wave and the voltages are the same.Speed (RPM) and power output rating will be 6/5 times the 50 Hz values, and core and windage losses will be a little bit higher.
That only leads to a whole bunch of other questions.
 
Last edited:

HANKMARS

Jul 28, 2019
498
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
498
Welcome to maker.pro!
Assuming the compressor is rated for 60Hz the most obvious result would be a speed reduction. Depending on the motor, its windings might overheat because of a reduction in their impedance.
Is the voltage the same for the two supplies?
Yes, ~= 110 VAC.
 

HANKMARS

Jul 28, 2019
498
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
498
If you're 50 HZ power supply is a sine wave and the voltages are the same.Speed (RPM) and power output rating will be 6/5 times the 50 Hz values, and core and windage losses will be a little bit higher.
That only leads to a whole bunch of other questions.
As I understand it, if there were no losses a typical induction motor would spin at 3600 rpm (or 1800 rpm depending upon how many poles are wound). Due to "slip" motors of this type will be rated at 3550 and 1725 rpm, respectfully. Another person found a statement saying power out would be reduced by 20%. That may correspond to the 6/5 x 50Hz above. At 60 Hz, 110 VAC, this motor draws 134 W. A lower impedance in the windings may demand more power which would perhaps offset a 20% drop in power out resulting in a power draw of 160 W. That may be tolerable.
 

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
1,810
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
1,810
As I understand it, if there were no losses a typical induction motor would spin at 3600 rpm (or 1800 rpm depending upon how many poles are wound). Due to "slip" motors of this type will be rated at 3550 and 1725 rpm, respectfully. Another person found a statement saying power out would be reduced by 20%. That may correspond to the 6/5 x 50Hz above. At 60 Hz, 110 VAC, this motor draws 134 W. A lower impedance in the windings may demand more power which would perhaps offset a 20% drop in power out resulting in a power draw of 160 W. That may be tolerable.
That was the long-winded version of what I have posted.
Off topic:
I got a question for you?
How do you go from this;
photo_1694806991222.png

To this?;


photo_1694807272657.png
I only asked cuz I would like to get @Alec_t to welcome me in writing.It'll be like signing my autograph book. I say that in the best possible way. :)
 
Last edited:

HANKMARS

Jul 28, 2019
498
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
498
That was the long-winded version of what I have posted.
Off topic:
I got a question for you?
How do you go from this;
View attachment 60750

To this?;


View attachment 60751
A few months ago my computer contracted a relatively hostile virus. Totally my fault for venturing into no man's land and disregarding anti-virus warnings. I have yet to seriously set my computer down and try to recover data. So, I am cruising thru cyberspace on a tablet using my phone's hotspot wifi connection. This setup is considerably more cumbersome and slow. Yesterday I wanted to post my question and called up makerpro. I did not remember my password so requested a pw change, or maybe I tried to login thru Google. Anyway, I made the request and created a new PW. I was returned to login page where I was asked for username. I typed in HANKMARS and was informed that that name was already being used so I typed in hankmars2, entered my PW and posted new thread. Today when I called up makerpro, apparently the program latched up to my former account. I had to do another make new PW exercise. Not until I was logged in did I notice that my 1st account was now the working account so I just went with it. I think when I tried to sign in with Google, the working Google account, on my phone, was uassmarshall instead of marshalldhankins, the latter being almost exclusively the account I use. I will make an effort to eliminate one of my makerpro accounts when my cyberspace use exceeds the speed of a carrier pigeon. Many years ago on Facebook, I somehow created 2 separate accounts using the same email address and same password. I have tried to eliminate the initial account but with Facebook's reluctance to produce a conversation with a live person, those 2 accounts still exist. My bad.
 

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
3,584
Joined
Jul 7, 2015
Messages
3,584
I only asked cuz I would like to get @Alec_t to welcome me in writing.It'll be like signing my autograph book. I say that in the best possible way. :)
You probably got a welcome 1168 posts ago as a newbie to the site. If not, then welcome to maker.pro!
 
Top