Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Electric motor - one rotation then stop

Klench

Aug 29, 2015
Hi all

Can anyone suggest the best way to get a 12V DC electric motor (70RPM) to rotate roughly 360 degrees and then stop?

So the process would be;

1. Power switched on.
2. Motor rotates once, then stops.
3. Power switched off.
4. Repeat

Thanks in advance

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Difficult to achieve with any accuracy.
Assume a gearbox is attached to the motor to give the 70RPM.
If that is the case the motor would have quite a bit of over-run once the power was removed.
One could "short" the motor terminals to give an amount of dynamic braking after the power was turned off by the limit switch mentioned above.

Klench

Aug 29, 2015
Thanks all for the feedback. The motor is actually already set to 70RPM

I'm a complete novice here, but will investigate how to set up using the technologies mentioned.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
you would be much better off using a stepper motor

newjeeper369

Aug 30, 2015
what is the application for this motor and type of function? does it need to be accurate or roughly one rotation?

Klench

Aug 29, 2015
It's intended as a metered dose type of application, e.g. power on via switch, motor starts and opens a spring-loaded latch using a cam. The latch releases material, then closes when the cam has moved past. What I'd like to avoid is situation where the latch stays open and all the material comes out at once, hence the idea to have a rotating cam that rotates 360 degrees then stops until the trigger switch is clicked again.

It would be great to turn off the process via switch, e.g. so if the latch opened at 12 o'clock, a 'stop' switch could be similarly pressed at 9 o'clock, but I don't know how to do that while at the same time allowing the process to start again, e.g. it seems to me that if a 'stop' switch was used, the circuit is then broken.

Thanks

BobK

Jan 5, 2010