Maker Pro
Maker Pro

electromagnetism

meedo74

Sep 4, 2016
Hi all,

Kinda new to electronics, I majored in mechanical engineering so taking my first steps here :) what is the difference between an inductor and an electromagnet? For me from reading they are exactly the same components or o_O If so can I use an inductor as a tiny electromagnet? hence not as chock but to have it actuate based on magnetic energy? :rolleyes:

your help is much appreciated :D:D

OBW0549

Jul 5, 2016
An electromagnet is simply an inductor with a mission: attracting ferrous objects.

I imagine you could use an inductor as an electromagnet provided it can safely pass enough current to generate a strong enough magnetic field, and further provided it has an external magnetic field; some, like inductors wound on a toroid core or cup core or E-I laminations, do not.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
An inductor with an air core is not going to make a good electromagnet.

An inductor with a toroidal core will not act like an electromagnet (neither will one with any other form of closed magnetic circuit).

An electromagnet will be designed with sufficient resistance to limit the current when operated with DC, a typical inductor is designed to have minimal resistance.

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
Any electromagnet is an inductor but, as indicated above, not all inductors are electromagnets.

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3
May 8, 2012
This is probably being overly pedantic but I think it's better stated that any electromagnet is an inductor but not all inductors are 'effective' as electromagnets. After all even a small DC current flowing in a length of wire produces enough magnetic field to move a compass placed close to it.

Chris

meedo74

Sep 4, 2016