Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Exercise arm bike power board repair

drjsp

Nov 22, 2023
First off, I'm a complete novice when it comes to repairing circuit boards, checking parts, etc.. I took electronics in high school in the 70s...so...it's been a while.

In any case I have a Scifit Pro 1000 upper body exercise bike that went "pop!" and lost all the power a few weeks ago. I've isolated the problem to the power board. Power comes from the internal generator that spins when one starts pedaling, goes to the power board and out to the electronic brake, that provides variable effort resistance to the flywheel.

Voltage is being generated by the generator but there is no voltage exiting the board going to the brake.
There are no obviously damaged components; capacitors show no obvious damage nor are there any visible burned circuits or components.

It's an old model and replacement boards are unavailable and I have been unable to find a schematic online.
I do have pix of the board and have drawn a rudimentary schematic of part of the circuit. It's one of those boards where some of the connections are sandwiched between the layers and difficult to tell where all the components connect.

I've checked out a couple of the components but have been unable to isolate the bad component(s). Part of the issue is that I'm not sure how to test transistors and need basic, detailed help on how to do that. I can remove components from the board and resolder them back on with no issues.
If I can't fix the board, which I'm willing to keep trying to do, I thought if I could find a power source from which I could provide a variable voltage to the electronic brake, the bike would still be functional even though it wouldn't have the various programs that are in the display board. BTW, using an external 12v power source, the display board works fine but the problem is that the power board is not providing power to the brake despite being apparently told to do so by the control board.