Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Extending a hdmi switch button (Knucklehead with a soldering iron)

GuyManDude

Dec 7, 2022
5
Joined
Dec 7, 2022
Messages
5
I have an HDMI switching unit that has a momentary push button to switch between 2 inputs and an output. I want to use it inside an arcade cabinet but I want to extend the button to the cabinet exterior so it can easily be switched. I have attached some pictures of the unit. If you would be kind enough to offer some guidance I would appreciate help figuring out how to go about it please.

Could I solder 4 long wires to the 4 connection points on the bottom of the circuit board under the switch? Most momentary buttons only have 2 conductors though so I'm confused as to what button I could use.

Thanks for your time and suggestions.
 

Attachments

  • thumbnail_IMG_0093.jpg
    thumbnail_IMG_0093.jpg
    78.5 KB · Views: 3
  • thumbnail_IMG_0094.jpg
    thumbnail_IMG_0094.jpg
    87.8 KB · Views: 3
  • thumbnail_IMG_0095.jpg
    thumbnail_IMG_0095.jpg
    62.8 KB · Views: 3
Last edited:

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
13,632
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
13,632
This type of pushbutton has 4 pins for mechanical reasons only - to mount it securely on a pcb. Actually only 2 pins are used, possibly these 2:
1670475869592.png
but your photo is not crisp enough to make out details. Try to provide a better image, see here how to.

Another option is to extend the pushbutton mechanically by glueing on a stick.
 

GuyManDude

Dec 7, 2022
5
Joined
Dec 7, 2022
Messages
5
This type of pushbutton has 4 pins for mechanical reasons only - to mount it securely on a pcb. Actually only 2 pins are used, possibly these 2:
View attachment 57288
but your photo is not crisp enough to make out details. Try to provide a better image, see here how to.

Another option is to extend the pushbutton mechanically by glueing on a stick.
Thanks for your thoughts Harald. Here are some better pics although the back side doesn't have a whole lot of markings. I think you are right about 2 of the pins just being for mount stability, two of them don't appear to be connected to any of the pcb circuitry.
 

Attachments

  • large1.png
    large1.png
    333.6 KB · Views: 3
  • large2.png
    large2.png
    562.9 KB · Views: 3

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
13,632
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
13,632
The new images aren't that much crisper :( But I think my markings are right. You can give it a try by simply connecting another pushbutton across these two pins and test the function of the switch module with this new pushbutton.

This is an example of a typical such pushbutton (datasheet):
1670482249900.png
As you can see, even if you use the wrong two pins, no harm can be done:
  • using any combination of 1-3 , 1-4, 2-3 or 2-4 will result in the expected function.
  • using any combination of 1-2 or 3-4 will not result in the expected function, but will also do no harm as these pins are connected internally anyway.
Note that this is a typical configuration for this type of pushbutton. The one on your switch module might be wired differently, but the chances are very, very, very small.
 

GuyManDude

Dec 7, 2022
5
Joined
Dec 7, 2022
Messages
5
Tested successfully. I touched a jumper wire between the pins. Each touch switched the input port as expected. Thank you again.
 
Top